Sometimes called the ‘Mother Colony’ of the West Indies, Saint Kitts and Nevis are two islands in the Caribbean covering a total area of 261 sq. kilometres. They were among the first Caribbean islands to have been occupied by European settlers.

Liechtenstein, with an area of 160 sq. kilometres, is the only country located entirely in the Alps mountain range. It also has the unique distinction of having no airport. Travelers can only get to this destination via road or train from Austria or Switzerland.

Surrounded on all sides by Italy, San Merino is touted by its residents as the oldest surviving sovereign state in the world. The tiny country takes up an area of just 61 sq. kilometres.

A tiny gem located in the Pacific Ocean midway between Hawaii and Australia, the Polynesian island of Tuvalu is only 26 sq. kilometres in area. It was once part of the British Empire but gained independence in 1978.

Nauru is a tiny country lying to the east of Australia in the Central Pacific Ocean. Formerly known as Pleasant Island, it spans 21 sq. kilometres. It was a booming phosphate mining hub in the 1980’s, but the remaining reserves are no longer economically viable for extraction.

Located on the French Riviera in Western Europe, Monaco covers a miniscule territory of 2.02 sq. kilometres. Renowned as a playground for the rich and famous, it’s home to the largest number of millionaires and billionaires in the world. Grace Kelly and Monte Carlo, both symbols of Monaco, are synonymous with glamour and wealth, the two hallmarks of the tiny state.

Vatican City is a unique state within a state covering 0.44 sq. kilometres. A walled enclave within Italy’s capital, Rome, it’s the smallest independent state in the world. The Vatican is ruled by, and home to the Pope, the highest authority in Roman Catholic Christianity.